The Last Enemy is Death

Today is the day of the Resurrection of the Lord Jesus Christ.

I reflect on this day from the comfort of the guest room in my sister and brother-in-law’s home in California after a nice time at church followed by a nice time of fellowship over a delicious meal.

I am busy preparing a presentation for friends and supporters of the ministry.

I scroll through photos of our time in Ghana, trying to think of what to say, how to share our lives and ministry with them.

I run across the videos of Reese, our beloved daughter.

I see her laughter, her smiles..

The tears come without invitation.  I miss my baby girl.  My time with her was too short and she should be here with us.

And the words too come unbidden to my ears and my heart…

The last enemy is death.

Seeing my departed daughter’s beautiful face and smiles and laughter brings home to me the stark reality that she really is gone. She is dead. And the reality of her death causes me to see through the thin veneer of American affluence to the haunting face of that last enemy we try so hard to avoid facing — that last enemy, death, who deals his hand without recourse to one’s wealth or poverty or sex or social status or nationality. Our cosmetic enhancements, healthy eating, comfortable cars, air conditioned homes, technologically advanced medical centers — none of them do anything other than delay the inevitable date with death our last and greatest enemy.  He is the one against whom no army has ever emerged victorious and from whose clutches no one has ever escaped…

except Him.

“I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live.”

One thought on “The Last Enemy is Death

Leave a Reply

