Why I’m Re-Engaging the Blog

Several times in recent days I have thought about posting this or that thing on my blog in response to issues.  Well it should be obvious that I have found reasons not to post.  I think it is time though to wade back into the world of public discourse for two main reasons.

Firstly, it is a discipline of stewardship for me.  The discipline of writing forces me to engage more fully with the intersection of issues of culture & faith, and sharpens my thinking in the process.  It is also a way of being responsible with the use of the intellectual gifts God has entrusted to me.  By sharing my thoughts in a public way, there is the possibility at least of interaction, of critique, of response that hopefully sharpens, refines, and humbles me.

This leads to the second reason for re-engaging, which is one that feels a bit presumptuous to articulate.  That is, I think I may have something worthwhile to contribute.  I don’t harbor any illusions or pretentions that my small blog will draw any audience or set the internet ablaze.  Nor do I imagine that the thing I share will really be that significant or impactful to anyone.  Yet still, I believe at this point in life and ministry, I have developed some insights that could be useful for people to hear.

It is interesting that the second reason is more challenging than the first, especially given my chosen response to the Divine vocation of minister of the gospel.  For the last 20 years the declaration of the gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ — a task I’ve endeavoured to be faithful to, though I have failed at many times — has been my calling.  Yet to write my thoughts and share them in a public way feels differently (though I have actively blogged before).

This brings me to the reason why it has been hard for me to re-engage.  As I have read, and continue to read, studied theology, reflected more on scripture and life, begun married life and the task of child-rearing and, perhaps most critically, moved outside the US context, my views on a number of issues have shifted, in some cases, significantly.  If I am honest though, I don’t know how much my views have shifted as much as they have been increasingly clarified and I feel less reluctant to share them than previously.

In any event, my wife suggested that I should indeed re-engage. My blog was one of the tools she used to ‘vet’ me during our long-distance courtship prior to our marriage and though I don’t believe in submitting to my wife, I am choosing to re-engage

One thought on “Why I’m Re-Engaging the Blog

Leave a Reply

