Brief Reflections on an Historic Election

Today is Election Day and I am NOT watching the returns on TV. I cast my vote during early voting and am just waiting to find out who will take the job of president for the next four years, barring any unforeseen circumstances. I am however grateful that this long election cycle has come to an end.

I have ling been an avid follower of politics and this year has been no exception. I have always voted and consider myself well informed as to the issues. I am also interested in the political game itself, and have some personal reflections on things that have happened this cycle which are somewhat disturbing to me as a believer.

Race – It must be said that racial politics have loomed exceedingly large in this election. Many people are intrigued by Obama’s campaign and the symbolic nature of electing a Black man (really bi-racial) to the White House. It seems to me though that he and his campaign have brought this issue up (along with the media) far more than his opponents, which may complicate race relations going forward. Electing a Black man as president does not magically address issues of economic disparity among the Black populace in this country.

Gender – I have for the first time in my Black life had my eyes opened to the prevalence of gender discrimination and bias on a wide scale. First against Hillary Clinton I watched and heard people disparage her campaign for reasons only tangentially related to politics, and then in more personal contexts, I have seen people justify a vote for Obama on the “issues” when he and Sen. Clinton have similar policy platforms. Some of these same people are choking over the prospect of Gov. Palin being VP due to a perceived lack of “experience” though Obama has less experience than she does. This is alongside all kinds of other slights, insults, subtle put downs and blatant stereotyping that has gone largely unreported and un-commented on by the media.

Media – the American media is the vaunted fourth branch of government and is supposed to present information so that American voters can make informed decisions about candidates. This year, people on many sides of the political spectrum and independent analysis has demonstrated a blatant disregard for journalistic integrity from the major media outlets. Gotcha journalism has replaced investigation and politicians are permitted to make randomly erroneous statements without the least challenge from the media. It was clear in 2000 and even more clear today that media are not interested in effective journalism, but in what will sell and in promoting their own biases and narratives as “fact” to the American public. This is a danger to our democracy as we are dependent upon an independent and objective media in order to effectively participate in our political system.

Finally I can say that I am fairly disappointed overall. The election season that was supposed to be above the usual political fray has been the most divisive in my memory. Irresponsible charges of racism, unreported instances of misogyny, electoral and voter fraud, sexist and racist paraphernalia have proliferated and I do not believe this will be easily mended, though I think it could have if:

– both candidates had stuck to their commitment to receive public financing, thereby reducing the role of money and the appearance of “buying” the election
– both campaigns early and often condemned and restrained irresponsible race baiting and sexism
– both campaigns gave full disclosure to their histories and associations rather than lying or seeking to explain away uncomfortable facts.
– the media recognized and reported on the reality that the election will be historic no matter who wins; it is a HUGE deal that a woman could be VP, but that has been consistently downplayed.

4 thoughts on “Brief Reflections on an Historic Election

  1. Pingback: Election Data Feed
  2. I found your excellent blog through a comment you made supporting me on Riverdaughter’s Confluence. I appreciate your measured and wise commentary on this election process. Many of my Christian friends seem to have embraced the Democratic candidate simply because he was a Democrat. So many questions remain. I am left now to try to understand how I can move forward with integrity. Your words help. Thanks.

  3. Gordon – thanks for the visit and the compliment. The folks over at the Confluence are a hoot. I disagree with half of what they say, but they are genuine folks and I respect that.

  4. Hey this is not good….Obama, by executive order, plans on increasing abortion by funding it overseas:

    http://apnews.myway.com/article/20081109/D94BM1O00.html

    Also, Planned parenthoods president and abortion activist Cecile Richards shares her take on Obamas help to the abortion industry:

    more funding for abortions

    abortion for military women overseas

    Forcing doctors to do prescribe what they consider morally objectionable

    etc etc

    http://www.usnews.com/blogs/on-women/2008/11/7/7-things-obamas-win-could-mean-for-womens-health.html

    I thought Obama wanted to help lower abortion rates???

Leave a Reply

