Miscellaneous thoughts about travel and assorted other things

I traveled today and yesterday and noticed people in the airport who seemed to be entirely extraneous. By this I mean that they were carrying no bags, and were walking with apparently no purpose whatsoever. In addition, they did not seem to be workers. They were just… randomly in the airport, seemingly purposelessly. I wonder why they were there.

Have you ever met someone with the gift of holding a conversation entirely by themselves, with or without your participation? I sat next to such a person on my flight to Florida. In addition, she had less than minty fresh breath, if you get my drift. I certainly got hers.

I’ve noticed that security people at airports are much more “vigilant” if the airport is really small. I think it makes them feel important and as if they are contributing mightily to our nation’s security. They serve an important function I’m sure, but it is rather interesting.

Even though I’m a “pastor” and work in full time Christian ministry, sometimes I don’t feel particularly spiritual. I hope that doesn’t come as a surprise to anyone.

I really like preaching. I got to preach yesterday night and it was great to share what I’d seen in scripture. I was a little surprised because people laughed and responded verbally. I wish I could preach more often so I could get better. Is that vanity?

You ever notice how the phrase “a bad neighborhood” is really just shorthand for any place with a lot of poor people or Black or both?

Ok… back to traveling. I’m a big boy Ms. Flight Attendant. I can drink a full can of juice.

I don’t care if it is in the airport; $2.75 is too much to pay for a 20oz. soda.

That is all for now

3 thoughts on “Miscellaneous thoughts about travel and assorted other things

  1. Joshua…on any other blog you’ve written…I’ve thought, ‘why yes, I agree’. But this last one I could really identify with. 🙂 peace!

Leave a Reply

